Meet the Team

Dr Alex Walker

Dr Alex Walker

Position: Director & Registered Specialist Small Animal Surgery

Email: alex.walker@vsnz.co.nz

Alex graduated with distinction in 1978 from Massey University and spent two years in small animal practice in Auckland. In 1981 he was accepted for a residency in small animal surgery at the University of Missouri at Columbia (UMC). Alex spent two...

Read more >

Dr Richard Jerram

Dr Richard Jerram

Position: Director & Registered Specialist Small Animal Surgery

Email: richard.jerram@vsnz.co.nz

Richard graduated from Veterinary School at Massey University in Palmerston North with a Bachelor of Veterinary Science in 1987. He spent seven years in general practice in the Waikato. During this time, he worked with both farm animals and pets but...

Read more >

Dr Alastair Coomer

Dr Alastair Coomer

Position: Director & Registered Specialist Small Animal Surgery

Email: alastair.coomer@vsnz.co.nz

Alastair graduated from Massey University with a Bachelor of Veterinary Science in 2003, and worked in mixed animal practice in Ashburton for 18 months before pursuing surgical specialization. Alastair travelled to the Ontario Veterinary College...

Read more >

Dr Kyle Clark

Dr Kyle Clark

Position: Registered Specialist Small Animal Surgery

Email: kyle.clark@vsnz.co.nz

Kyle graduated from Massey University with distinction in 2006.  In 2007, she completed the Zoetis Small Animal Internship at the Veterinary Specialist Group.  Following this, she worked for 6 months in emergency practice at the Animal...

Read more >

Dr Damian Chase

Dr Damian Chase

Position: Registered Specialist Small Animal Surgery

Email: damian.chase@vsnz.co.nz

Damian graduated from Massey University in 1997 and started his veterinary career in a busy mixed practice in South Otago. Over the next 10 years in general practice Damian realised that surgery was his true calling and he moved to the UK to completed an...

Read more >

Sarah Cruickshank

Sarah Cruickshank

Position: Director VSAP & Principal Physiotherapist

Email: sarah@vetphysio.co.nz

Sarah Cruickshank was the first New Zealander to be internationally qualified as a Veterinary Physiotherapist and is a registered physiotherapist with the New Zealand Physiotherapy Board.  After announcing as a 13 year old that she wanted to be an...

Read more >

Helen Robartes

Helen Robartes

Position: Veterinary Physiotherapist

Email: helen@vetphysio.co.nz

Helen grew up with animals and always knew that she wanted to work with them. She rode from an early age, competed as a show-jumper, and also tried drag hunting and polocrosse. Animal health and performance, and the connection between horse and rider,...

Read more >